2015 William O. Lipinski Symposium Agenda & Presentations

Paths to Economic Competitiveness:
Advancing Supply Chain Performance in the Chicago Hub

Monday, June 22, 2015

This symposium explored the role of intermodal supply chain operations for promoting economic development and competitiveness in the Chicago hub, for the purpose of identifying values, obstacles, opportunities, and priorities for advancing freight mobility in the region and the nation. Beginning with an address from Honorary Symposium Chair William O. Lipinski, the symposium discussed ways supply chain is performing and can perform in the Chicagoland and Illinois region, both locally and nationally. During Lunch, Ann Drake, CEO of DSC Logistics, was presented with the David F. Schulz Award for her outstanding contributions to the industry.

Morning Session

8:00 – 8:15

Former U.S. Rep. William O. Lipinski

8:15 – 8:20 Introduction: Supply Chain Performance in the Chicago Hub
Joseph L. Schofer, Associate Dean, Northwestern University McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science
8:20 – 9:10

Supply Chain Performance in the Chicago Region
Craig Boroughf, Senior Director, Global Sourcing, USG Corporation
Michael Broaders, Vice President Transportation, Supply Planning & Warehouse, Coca-Cola Refreshments
Bill Seliger, Director of Supply Chain & Project Management, RR Donnelley

9:10 – 10:00 Supply Chain Industry Performance, Obstacles, and Prospects
John H. Friedmann, Vice President Strategic Planning, Norfolk Southern Corp.
William J. Matheson, President Intermodal, Schneider
Ken Heller, Vice President, Supply Chain Excellence, DSC Logistics
10:00 – 10:30 Break
10:30 – 11:00

Measuring Supply Chain Performance: Freight Fluidity Tools and Applications
Nicole Katsikides, Program Manager, Federal Highway Administration Office of Freight Policy

11:00 – 11:30

Moderated Discussion - Supply Chain Performance

11:30 – 12:00

Hon. Ray LaHood, former US Secretary of Transportation, perspectives on the future

Lunch Session

12:15 – 1:45 Lunch and Keynote Speaker
Matthew K. Rose, Executive Chairman (former Chairman & CEO), BNSF Railway
[Cancelled due to inclement weather]

Presentation of the David F. Schulz Award
Ann Drake, CEO, DSC Logistics

Afternoon Session

2:00 – 3:00 Perspectives from Illinois
Randy Blankenhorn, Acting Secretary, Illinois Department of Transportation
Joseph Szabo, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
3:00 – 3:30 Break
3:30 – 4:30 Policy Perspectives: Surface Transportation Funding and Supply Chain Performance
U.S. Rep. Peter DeFazio
U.S. Rep. Daniel Lipinski
Dorval Carter, President, Chicago Transit Authority
4:30 – 5:00 Where Do We Go From Here—and How Do We Get There?
Moderated panel with speakers from previous sessions

Agenda subject to change.