Dr. Robert Herman, L.P.

Dr. Herman was born August 29, 1914, in New York City. He graduated cum laude and with special honors in physics from the City College of New York in 1934, and pursued his graduate degrees at Princeton University where, in 1940, he was awarded the MP and Ph.D. degrees in physics.

Over the next 39 years, Dr. Herman held academic positions at the University of Pennsylvania, the City College of New York and the University of Maryland, and research positions at General Motors Research laboratories, the Carnegie Institution of Washington and John Hopkins University. In September 1979, Dr. Herman joined the faculty of the University of Texas at Austin as the J.P. Gilvin Professor in Civil Engineering and as Professor of Physics in the Center for Studies in Statistical Mechanics. He is now the L.P. Gilvin Centennial Professor Emeritus in Civil Engineering and professor of Physics.

As a professor of transportation Dr. Herman has made significant contributions to transportation research, particularly in examining the stability and flow of single and multiple channeled traffic. He has developed a kinetic theory of traffic flow which provides what is acknowledged as the best description of complex multi-channeled traffic and has also developed a two fluid model of urban traffic which has been used to determine the quality and character of traffic and traffic systems in various cities around the world.

Professor Herman is also widely known for having collaboratively developed the "big Bang" theory of the expanding universe, for predicting the existence of cosmic black body radiation and for determining the maximum age of the Earth's crust to be 5.3 billion years.

Over the course of his long and distinguished career, Dr. Herman has received honors from numerous governmental and academic organizations. He is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Sigma Xi, the Washington Philosophical Society, and the Royal Institution of Great Britain, and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Washington Academy of Sciences and the Franklin Institute. He has served on various committees for the National Academy of Sciences, the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, and the national Bureau of Standards. In 1978 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his contributions to the science of vehicular traffic.